This is me

Hi there my lovelies ๐Ÿ’œ Welcome to my very first blog post!

During this blog I promise to be real, honest and most of RAW. I have been so hesitant to begin my blog but after many requests and encouragement I decided to take the plunge, to pour my heart out and tell you all of my personal experiences.

My life is not easy. I feel as though I am going through world war 11 at battle with Hitler who is my brain dictating every single part of my life, even my bodily movements! I warn you again this blog will be very raw! In saying that, It will also be full of love and happiness. I am seriously blessed with the best in my life. Including my fur babies!

The greatest part of blogging for me and why I have had so many people encourage me to start (even my doctor suggested it) is being able to express myself. Express my emotions, ideas, experiences etc. and it will actually make sense! As you will learn later on in my blog I have endured severe epilepsy, multiple brain surgeries, psychosis, and now suffer other mental health issues. I have an acquired brain injury as a result. A combination of all that I have endured and the million and one medications I am taking every day I have a lot of trouble expressing myself verbally. It’s like brain fog. Cognitive slowing I guess. I know exactly what I want to say but it takes me ten years to actually verbalise it so that it makes sense. And don’t ever expect me to answer anything even slightly complex on the spot. Give me about a year or so to think about it, then come back to me!

So on the 26th of March was purple day for Epilepsy Awareness. I wrote a story about my experience (a brief insight into my life) which was published by Epilepsy Queensland. They published it on their website, in their newsletter and on social media platforms. They also used a small snippet of my story in the hopes they would receive a grant from ‘Grace Gives’. If they received the grant, they would use the money for educational resources in schools. So badly needed!! Unfortunately there were so many worthy charities in the running that received more votes and Epilepsy Queensland missed out.

Epilepsy Queensland really is a great organisation. If you don’t have them on Facebook or instagram definitely do add them. Anyway, for you to gain further insight into my life I will share with you my story.

For now I will leave you with a great little quote I came across on Pinterest!

Much love,

Nat xx

One thought on “This is me

Leave a comment